Little Seed – Project 333

Little seeds are sound-bite posts where I share a quick thought, video, article, or some other bit of interesting information.

A couple of weeks ago I posted a Little Seed about the Minimalism Documentary. During the video, I was introduced to Project 333 and it caught my attention. Project 333 is the minimalist fashion challenge that invites you to dress with 33 items or less for 3 months. I’ve been thinking about it since I saw the documentary and I think I’m going to give it a try. It would be a great way to clean out my closet and simplify for the spring weather that is finally making an appearance. 

Since I learned about Project 333, I’ve tried to pay a little more attention to what I’m wearing as well as clothes in my closet that I haven’t worn in months (or even years in some cases). I do try to be conscious of the clothes (and products) that I buy, but one of the best ways to live sustainably is to not buy more things in the first place! I intend to go through my closet this weekend and pare it down to 33 items that I will live, work, and play in for the next 3 months. If you’d like to join in, visit the Project 333 website here to read the rules, get a quick-start guide, and find links to other helpful sources. For those of you that follow me on social media, I plan to post my progress via Instagram Stories on Sunday to show you all how I’m doing! *Disclaimer – I’ve never used Instagram Storied before so bear with me while I test it out this weekend!* ๐Ÿ™‚

Have you ever done something like this where you minimized your wardrobe or another aspect of your life? What was your experience? Any helpful tips?

Posted by

I live in upstate NY and am trying to live a more sustainable life. Join me!

2 thoughts on “Little Seed – Project 333

  1. Hello! I’ve done Project 333 — or something like it. My wardrobe fluctuates, so I’m never at 33 items for the full three months. I’ve had a little more and a little less.

    Using the principles of The Life-Changing Magic of Tidying Up really helped me let go of many of the items that I held onto for sentimental reasons.

    I do think that the wardrobe is one area that calls for more refinement over time. Our tastes change, our bodies change, etc.

    Good luck!

    Like

    1. Thanks so much for your input! I started paring everything down yesterday to get closer to 33 items. I got rid of a lot of clothes that I don’t like/never wear but what’s left in my closet is stuff I really like and think I wear often so the next step is going to be more difficult. It helps to hear from people that have done this before! ๐Ÿ˜Š

      Like

Say something!

